NBC analysts Mike Milbury and Jeremy Roenick stopped short of saying Sidney Crosby took a dive, but agreed that he went down easy when New York Islanders defenseman Brian Strait wrapped up Crosby in overtime yesterday.
Strait got a holding penalty. The Penguins got a power-play goal, a 5-4 victory and a two-games-to-one series lead. That's what happens when you employ waiver-wire defensemen.
It was definitely a penalty. If it’s a penalty in the first period of the first regular-season game, it’s a penalty in overtime of a playoff game. I’ve always felt that way. The rulebook and officiating standards should be consistent.
*Crosby (or any superstar) is more likely to get that call.
*If Simon Despres had tugged down John Tavares and the Islanders had netted a PPG in OT, Penguins fans would be complaining like crazy.
*If not for power plays and the very occasional burst of good play, the Penguins would be down two games to one.
But for me, that’s a penalty every time. No matter who has the puck, no matter who commits the grab, no matter the score and situation.
I’m amazed when fans get legitimately angry when TV analysts say something they disagree with. You shouldn’t care what Milbury and Roenick say. You shouldn’t care what I say. It doesn’t affect the game’s outcome, and it shouldn’t affect your enjoyment of the broadcast.
Milbury and Roenick got you talking about them. They did their job.